Education Commission of the States • 700 Broadway, Suite 810 • Denver, CO 80203-3442 • 303.299.3600 • Fax: 303.296.8332 • www.ecs.org
Access to Kindergarten: Age Issues in State Statutes

This ECS StateNote documents how state lawmakers have addressed kindergarten-related age issues, including compulsory school age, kindergarten entrance age, early entrance to kindergarten, skipping kindergarten and kindergarten exemption.

For the most recent version, updated in March 2014, please go to the ECS Kindergarten Database


Compulsory School Age Kindergarten Entrance Age Provision for Early Entry to Kindergarten Provision for Skipping Kindergarten Conditions for Kindergarten Exemption Student Attendance in Kindergarten
Alabama 7
(AL ST § 16-28-3)
5 on or before September 1
(AL ST § 16-28-4)
"An underage child who transfers from the public school kindergarten in another state may be admitted to local public kindergarten on the prior approval of the local board of education on a space available basis" (AL ST § 16-28-4). "An underage child who transfers from the 1st grade of a school in another state may be admitted to school upon approval of the board of education in authority, and an underage child who has moved into this state having completed or graduated from a mandated kindergarten program in another state shall be entitled to admission to the public elementary schools regardless of age" (AL ST § 16-28-24). Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
Alaska 7
(AK ST § 14.30.010)
5 before August 15
(AK ST § 14.03.080)
"A child under school age may be admitted to the school in the district of which the child is a resident if immediately before the child became a resident of the district, the child was legally enrolled in the public schools of another district or state. . . .A child under school age may be admitted to the public school in the school district of which the child is a resident at the discretion of the governing body of the school district if the child meets minimum standards prescribed by the board evidencing that the child has the mental, physical, and emotional capacity to perform satisfactorily for the educational program being offered. A district's educational program must prescribe that under school-age students advance through the curriculum or grade level by the following school year" (AK ST § 14.03.080). Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
Arizona 6
(AZ ST § 15-802)
5 before September 1
(AZ ST § 15-821)
If, in consultation with the parent/guardian, the child, the teacher and the school principal, it is determined to be in the best interest of the child, a child may be admitted to kindergarten early. Such child must reach the required age of 5 by January 1 of the current school year (AZ ST § 15-821). If, in consultation with the parent/guardian, the child, the teacher and the school principal, it is determined to be in the best interest of the child, a child may be admitted to the 1st grade early. Such child must reach the required age of 6 by January 1 of the current school year (AZ ST § 15-821). Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state. Permissive
Arkansas 5
(AR ST § 6-18-201)
5 on or before September 15
(AR ST § 6-18-207)
"Any student who has been enrolled in a state-accredited or state-approved kindergarten program in another state for at least 60 days, who will become 5 years old during the year in which he is enrolled in kindergarten and who meets the basic residency requirement for school attendance, may be enrolled in a kindergarten program in a public school in this state" (AR ST § 6-18-207). Not specified in statute. A child who will be 6 on or before October 1 who has not completed a state-accredited kindergarten program "shall be evaluated by the district and may be placed in the 1st grade if the results of the evaluation justify placement in the 1st grade and the child's parent agrees with placement in the 1st grade. Otherwise, the child shall be placed in kindergarten" (AR ST § 6-18-201). Mandatory
(AR ST § 6-18-201)
California 6
(CA EDUC § 48200)
5 on or before December 2
(CA EDUC § 48000)
The school district may admit, on a case-by-case basis, a kindergarten child who will turn 5 at any time during the school year providing a) the parent or guardian gives permission, b) the district determines early admittance is in the best interest of the child and c) the parent or guardian is given information regarding the advantages and disadvantages of early admittance (CA EDUC § 48000). A kindergarten child who is judged by the administration of the school district to be ready for 1st grade work may be admitted to the 1st grade at the discretion of the school administration and with the consent of the child's parent or guardian if the child is at least 5 years old and meets the following criteria:
1) The child has attended a public school kindergarten for a long enough time to enable school personnel to evaluate his ability;
2) The child is in the upper 5% of his age group in terms of general mental ability; and
3) The physical development and social maturity of the child are consistent with advanced mental ability (CA EDUC § 48011 and 5 CA ADC § 200).
Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
Connecticut 5
(CT ST § 10-184)
5 on or before January 1
(CT ST § 10-15c)
"Boards of education may, by vote at a meeting duly called, admit to any school children under 5 years of age" (CT ST § 10-15c). Not specified in statute. "The parent or person having control of a child 5 years of age shall have the option of not sending the child to school until the child is 6 years of age. . .by personally appearing at the school district office and signing an option form" (CT ST § 10-184). Mandatory
(CT ST § 10-184)
Delaware 5
(DE ST TI 14 § 2702)
5 on or before August 31
(DE ST TI 14 § 2702)
"Local school authorities may grant exceptions [to the entrance age] for entry into school if they determine that such exception is in the best interest of the child" (DE ST TI 14 § 2702). Not specified in statute. Parents may request an evaluation of a child's readiness for kindergarten attendance "and may request a delay of one year in that attendance." However, admission to 1st grade will depend on an evaluation of the child's readiness for attendance (DE ST TI 14 § 2702). Mandatory
(DE ST TI 14 § 2702)
Florida 6 (FL ST § 232.01) 5 on or before September 1 (FL ST § 232.01) Not specified in statute. Not specified in statute. Not specified in statute. Permissive
Georgia 6 (GA ST § 20-2-690.1) 5 by September 1 (GA ST § 20-2-150) A child who was a legal resident "of one or more other states for a period of two years immediately prior to moving" to Georgia, and was legally enrolled in kindergarten, shall be eligible for enrollment in kindergarten if the child will attain the age of 5 by December 31 and "is otherwise qualified" (GA ST 20-2-150). A child who was a legal resident "of one or more other states for a period of two years immediately prior to moving" to Georgia, and was legally enrolled in kindergarten, shall be eligible for enrollment in 1st grade if the child will attain the age of 6 by December 31 and "is otherwise qualified." Kindergarten attendance is not required in Georgia. Permissive
Hawaii 6
HI ST § 302A-1132
5 on or before December 31

Beginning with the 2006-2007 school year, the entrance age for kindergarten will be 5 on or before August 1

Beginning with the 2006-2007 school year, the entrance age for junior kindergarten will be 5 after August 1 and before January 1
HI ST § 302A-411
Beginning with the 2006-2007 school year, a junior kindergarten experience will be provided for all children who have not reached age 5 by the kindergarten cut-off date (August 1), but will turn 5 by January 1.

During the 2004-2005 and 2005-2006 school years, the Hawaii Department of Education will plan and pilot the junior kindergartens.

HI ST § 302A-411(c)
Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
HI ST § 302A-411
Idaho 7
(ID ST § 33-202)
5 on or before September 1
(ID ST § 33-201)
Not specified in statute. "Any child of the age of 5 years who has completed a private or public out-of-state kindergarten. . .but has not reached the school age requirement in Idaho shall be allowed to enter the 1st grade" (ID ST § 33-201). Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
ID ST § 33-208
Illinois 7
(IL ST CH 105 § 5/26-1)
5 on or before September 1
(IL ST SCH 105 § 5/10-20.12)
"Based upon a child's readiness to attend school, a school district may permit a child to attend school prior to the dates contained in this section" (IL ST SCH 105 § 5/10-20.12). Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory. Permissive
Indiana 7
(IN ST § 20-8.1-3-17).
5 on or before July 1
(IN ST § 20-8.1-3-17)
"…[T]he governing body of the school corporation shall adopt a procedure affording a parent of an individual who does not meet the minimum age requirement set forth in this subsection the right to appeal to the superintendent of the school corporation for enrollment of the individual in kindergarten at an age earlier than the age that is set forth" in the statute (IN ST § 20-8.1-3-17). Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
Iowa 6
(IA ST § 299.1A)
5 on or before September 15
(IA ST § 282.3)
Not specified in statute. "A child under 6 years of age who has been admitted to school work for the year immediately preceding the 1st grade under conditions approved by the department of education or who has demonstrated the possession of sufficient ability to profit by 1st grade work on the basis of tests or other means of evaluation recommended or approved by the department of education, may be admitted to 1st grade at any time before December 31" (IA ST § 282.3). Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in his state. Permissive
Kansas 7
(KS ST § 72-1111)
5 on or before August 31
(KS ST § 72-1107(c))
"Any child who was a resident in another state and who, while residing in such other state, had entered and was in attendance in kindergarten in such state shall be eligible to attend kindergarten in this state, regardless of age" (KS ST § 72-1107(d)). "Any child who has completed a kindergarten course entered and attended in this state or who was a resident in another state and who, while residing in such other state, had entered and was in attendance in 1st grade in such state or who had completed in such state a kindergarten course maintained by a public school district or by an accredited private, denominational or parochial school shall be eligible to attend 1st grade in this state, regardless of age" (KS ST § 72-1107(b)). Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
(KS ST § 72-1111 and § 72-1107)
Kentucky 6
(KY ST § 159.010)
5 by October 1
(KY ST § 158.030)
Not specified in statute. Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state. Permissive
(KY ST § 158.030)
Louisiana 7

(LA R.S. 17:221)
5 on or before September 30
(LA R.S. 17:151.3 and 17:222)
A child may be admitted to kindergarten early "provided that such child has been evaluated and identified as gifted in accordance with the regulations of the state department of education for such evaluation" (LA R.S. 17:151.3).

During the 2005-2006 school year, the Department of Education shall pilot “Kindergarten Plus” in one class in each of the eight regional service districts. Kindergarten Plus provides a full day of kindergarten beginning two months prior to other kindergarten classes. Children are eligible for Kindergarten Plus if they qualify for the federal free and reduced cost lunch program. (LA R.S. 17:24.7)
Children must attend kindergarten before attending 1st grade unless they have satisfactorily passed an academic screening administered by the city or parish school system. Each parish or school system may establish academic readiness levels for its 1st grade based on criteria established by the system (LA R.S. 17:151.3). Children must attend kindergarten before attending 1st grade unless they have satisfactorily passed an academic screening administered by the city or parish school system (LA R.S. 17:151.3). Mandatory
(LA R.S. 17:151.3)
Maine 7
(ME ST TL 20-A §5001-A)
5 on or before October 15
(ME ST T. 20-A § 5201)
A person who has enrolled in a public kindergarten or 1st grade in another state may enroll in kindergarten or 1st grade in the administrative unit where the parent or guardian become residents (ME ST T. 20-A § 5201). Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
Maryland 5
(MD EDUC § 7-301(c))
5 by November 30
(MD EDUC § 7-301)

Beginning with the 2003-04 school year Maryland began raising the entrance age as follows:
2003-04: November 30
2004-05: October 31
2005-06: September 30
2006-07: September 1
(MD EDUC § 7-301)
"The local board of education may adopt a regulation permitting a 4-year-old child, upon request by the parent or guardian, to be admitted to kindergarten if the local superintendent of schools or the superintendent's designee determines that the child demonstrates capabilities warranting early admission" (MD ADC 13A.08.01.02). "The local board of education may adopt a regulation permitting a 5-year-old child, upon request of the parent or guardian, to be admitted to the 1st grade if the local superintendent of schools or the superintendent's designee determines that the child has demonstrated capabilities warranting early admission" (MA ADC 13A.08.01.02). A child who is 5 years old may be exempted from mandatory school attendance for one year if the child's parent or guardian files a written request with the local school system asking that the child's attendance be delayed due to the child's level of maturity. A child may be exempted from attending kindergarten if a parent or guardian of the child files a written request with the local school system and verifies that the child is enrolled full-time in a licensed child care center; full-time in a registered family child care home; or part-time in a Head Start 5-year-old program [MD EDUC § 7-301(a)(2) and (f)].

A child may be exempted from attending a public or nonpublic kindergarten program if "the child is enrolled in an alternative program as specified in [state regulations] or is receiving home instruction as provided in [state regulations]. (MD ADC 13A.08.01.01)
Mandatory
(MD EDUC § 7-301)
Massachusetts 6
(603 MA ADC 8.02 )
Local education agency option. Not specified in statute or code. Not specified in statute or code. Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
Michigan 6
(MI ST 380.1561)
5 on or before December 1. If the school district has semiannual promotions, a child may enroll in kindergarten for the second semester if he is at least 5 on March 1 of the school year (MI ST 380.1147). Not specified in statute. If a district does not offer kindergarten, "a child who is at least 5 years of age on the first day of enrollment of the school year, shall have a right to attend school in the district" (MI ST 380.1147). Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state. Permissive
Minnesota 7
(MN ST § 120A.22)
At least 5 on September 1
(MN ST § 120A.20)
Not specified in statute. Any school board may establish a policy for admission of selected pupils at an earlier age (MN ST § 120A.20). Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
(MN ST § 120A.02)
Mississippi 6
(MS ST § 37-15-9)
5 on or before September 1
(Mississippi Kindergarten Guidelines)
Not specified in statute. Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state. Permissive
Missouri 7
(MO ST 167.031)
5 before August 1
(MO ST 160.051)

The law is different for metropolitan school districts. "All metropolitan school districts. . . may establish and enforce a regulation which requires that a child shall have attained the age of five for purposes of kindergarten and summer school prior to a kindergarten school term. . .on or before any date between August first and October first of that year" (MO ST 160.054).
Not specified in statute. Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
Montana 7
(MT ST 20-5-102)
5 on or before September 10
(MT ST 20-7-117)
Children may enter kindergarten early by "special permission of the board of trustees" (MT ST 20-7-117). Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state. Permissive
(MT ST § 20-5-102)
Nebraska 6
(NE ST § 79-201)
5 on or before October 15
(NE ST § 79-214)
"The board may admit a child who will reach the age of 5 between October 16 and February 1 of the current school year if the parent or guardian requests such entrance and provides an affidavit stating that (a) the child attended kindergarten in another jurisdiction in the current school year, (b) the family anticipates relocation to another jurisdiction that would allow admission within the current year, or (c) the child has demonstrated through recognized assessment procedures approved by the board that he or she is capable of carrying the work of kindergarten or the beginner grade" (NE ST § 79-214). Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
Nevada 7
(NV ST 392.040)
5 on or before September 30
(NV ST 392.040)
"If a child is not 5 years of age on or before September 30 of a school year, the child must not be admitted to kindergarten." (NV ST 392.040). "If a child is not 6 years of age on or before September 30 of a school year, the child must not be admitted to the 1st grade until the beginning of the school year following his 6th birthday" (NV ST 392.040). The parents of a 6-year-old child may elect for the child not to attend kindergarten or 1st grade during that year if they file a waiver with the board of trustees of the appropriate school district. If parents choose this option, the child must pass a developmental assessment before being admitted to 1st grade the following year (NV ST 392.040). Mandatory
(NV ST 392.040)
New Hampshire 6
(NH ST § 193:1)
Not specified in statute. Not specified in statute. Not specified in statute. Not specified in statute. Permissive
(NH ST § 193:1)
New Jersey 6
(NJ ST 18A:38-25)
A district may admit to kindergarten "any child over the age of 4 and under the age of 5 and shall admit. . .any child over the age of 5 and under the age of 6 years who is a resident of the district" (NJ ST 18A:44-2). A district may admit to kindergarten "any child over the age of 4 and under the age of 5 and shall admit. . .any child over the age of 5 and under the age of 6 years who is a resident of the district" (NJ ST 18A:44-2). Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state. Permissive
New Mexico 5
(NM ST § 22-1-2 and § 22-12-2)
5 before September 1
(NM ST § 22-13-3)
Not specified in statute. Not specified in statute. With consent of the parent a child may be excused from compulsory attendance by the superintendent of schools of the school district in which the child is a resident and the child is under 8 years of age (NM ST § 22-12-2). Mandatory
(NM ST § 22-1-2 and § 22-12-2)
New York 6
(NY EDUC § 3205)
Local education agency option
(NY EDUC § 1712)
Not specified in statute. Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
(NY EDUC § 3205)
North Carolina 7
(NC ST § 115C-378)
5 on or before October 16
(NC ST § 115C-364)
A child who has been enrolled in kindergarten in another state may attend kindergarten, regardless of age, if the child is now a legal resident in North Carolina (NC ST § 115C-364 (b) and (d)). A child who turns 4 on or before April 16 may enter kindergarten during the first month of the school year, if the school principal finds, based on information submitted by the child's parent or guardian, that the child is gifted and that the child has the maturity to justify early admission. If a principal finds, subsequent to initial kindergarten entry, that a child, by reason of maturity, can be more appropriately served in the 1st grade, the child may be placed in 1st grade, regardless of age (NC ST § 115C-364(c)). Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
(NC ST § 115C-378)
North Dakota 7
(ND 15.1-20-01)
5 before September 1
(ND ST 15.1-06-01)
A child may be admitted to kindergarten who will be 5 years old before January 1 and the child, by means of developmental and readiness screening instruments approved by the superintendent of public instruction and administered by the school district, can demonstrate special talents or abilities or has been enrolled in another approved kindergarten (ND ST 15.1-06-01). A child must be 6 by September 1 before he enters 1st grade unless he a) can demonstrate special talents or abilities or b) has completed an approved kindergarten program (ND ST 15.1-06-01). Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
Ohio 6
(OH ST § 3321.01(A)(1))
Districts may choose to set the cut-off date for September 30 or August 1 (OH ST § 3321.01). Students may be admitted to kindergarten before they meet the age requirement if they reside in a district with standardized testing programs for determining early entrance. Districts shall establish a pupil personnel services committee to grant waivers for early entrance (OH ST § 3321.01). Not specified in statute. Students must complete kindergarten in order to attend 1st grade. This requirement may be waived upon request of a parent in the case of a child who is at least 6-years-old by September 30 and who demonstrates the social, emotional and cognitive skills necessary for 1st grade (OH ST § 3321.012(C) and (D)). Mandatory
(OH ST § 3321.29)
Oklahoma 5
(OK ST T. 70 § 10-105)
5 on or before September 1
(OK ST T. 70 § 18-108)
"No child shall be enrolled in kindergarten unless he or she will have reached the age of five (5) years on or before September 1 of the school year" (OK ST T. 70 § 1-114). "No child shall be enrolled in kindergarten unless he or she will have reached the age of five (5) years on or before September 1 of the school year" (OK ST T. 70 § 1-114). A child who is 5 years old may be excused from kindergarten attendance for one year if a parent or guardian notifies the superintendent of the district by certified mail prior to enrollment (OK ST T. 70 § 10-105). Mandatory
(OK ST T. 70 § 10-105)
Oregon 7
(OR ST § 339.020)
5 on or before September 1
(OR ST § 336.092)
A district school board may admit a child "whose needs for cognitive, social and physical development would best be met in the school program, as defined by policies of the district school board, to school even though the child has not attained the minimum age requirement" (OR ST § 336.095). A district school board may admit a child "whose needs for cognitive, social and physical development would best be met in the school program, as defined by policies of the district school board, to school even though the child has not attained the minimum age requirement" (OR ST § 339.115). Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state. Permissive
Pennsylvania 8
(PA ST 24 P.S. § 13-1326)
Local education agency option (PA ST 24 PS. § 5-503). Not specified in statute. Each district may choose to provide early entrance to students "in accordance with standards prescribed by the state board of education" (PA ST 24 P.S. § 13-1304). Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
Rhode Island 6
(RI ST § 16-19-1)
5 on or before December 31 (until 1/1/04)
5 on or before September 1 (after 1/1/04)
(RI ST § 16-2-27)
Not specified in statute. "Every child shall be eligible to attend 1st grade only upon completion of a state recognized or accredited kindergarten program" (RI ST § 16-2-28). Not specified in statute. Mandatory
(RI ST § 16-2-28)
South Carolina 5
(SC ST § 59-65-10)
5 on or before September 1
(SC ST § 59-63-20)
Children who have "substantially initiated a public school kindergarten program in another state" may be admitted to kindergarten in South Carolina regardless of their age (SC ST § 59-63-20). Districts may choose to admit children to kindergarten or 1st grade before the state entrance age, however the district is not entitled to receive any state aid for students admitted early (SC ST § 59-63-20). A parent may elect for their child not to attend kindergarten if the parent "signs a written document making the election with the governing body of the school district" (SC ST § 59-65-10). Mandatory
(SC ST § 59-65-10)
South Dakota 6
(SD ST § 13-27-1)
5 on or before September 1
(SD ST § 13-28-2)
"Any child who transfers from another state may proceed in a continuous educational program without interruption" (SD ST § 13-28-2). "Any child who transfers from another state may proceed in a continuous educational program without interruption" (SD ST § 13-28-2). Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
Tennessee 6
(TN ST § 49-6-3005)
5 on or before September 30
(TN ST § 49-6-201)
Not specified in statute. "No child shall be eligible to enter 1st grade. . .without having attended an approved kindergarten program" (TN ST § 49-6-201). "No child shall be eligible to enter 1st grade. . .without having attended an approved kindergarten program" (TN ST § 49-6-201). Mandatory
(TN ST § 49-6-201)
Texas 6
(TX EDIC § 25.085)
5 on or before September 1
(TX EDUC § 29.151)
A student younger than 5 may be admitted to kindergarten if the student performs satisfactorily on the assessment given to 3rd grade students and if the district has adopted a policy for admitting students younger than 5 years of age (TX EDUC § 42.003). A child who has completed kindergarten in another state may attend 1st grade before he has turned 6 (TX EDUC § 42.003). Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state (TX EDUC § 42.003). Permissive
(TX EDUC § 42.003)
Utah 6
(UT ST §53A-11-101)
5 on or before September 2
(UT ST § 53A-3-402)
Not specified in statute. Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not required in this state. Permissive
Vermont 6
(VT ST T. 16 § 1121)
5 on or before January 1

Local education agencies may choose to set the kindergarten entrance date between August 31 and January 1 (VT ST T. 16 § 1073).
Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Not specified in statute. Permissive
Virginia 5
(VA ST § 22.1-199)
5 on or before September 30
(VA ST § 22.1-199)
In districts offering a two-tiered, junior or other developmentally appropriate pre-kindergarten program or transitional 1st grade, “children whose 5th birthday occurs between October 1 and December 31 of the school year may be enrolled in kindergarten after an appropriate readiness evaluation has demonstrated that attendance in these programs will educationally benefit such children” (VA ST § 22.1-199). Any child who will not have reached his 6th birthday on or before September 30 whose parent notifies the appropriate school board that he does not wish the child to attend school until the following year because the child “in the opinion of the parent or guardian, is not mentally, physically or emotionally prepared to attend school, may delay the child’s attendance for one year” (VA ST § 22.1-254). Mandatory
(VA ST § 22.1-199)
Washington 8
(WA ST § 28A.255.010)
5 as of midnight August 31
(WA ADC 180-39-010)
Local education agencies may allow early admittance based upon the ability, need or both of an individual student (WA ST 28A.225.160). Local education agencies may set the entrance age for 1st grade and may make exceptions for individual students based on ability, need or both (WA ST 28A.225.160). Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
(WA ST § 28A.255.010)
West Virginia 6
(WV ST § 18-8-1)
5 on or before September 1
(WV ST § 18-5-18)
“A county board may provide for advanced entrance or placement under policies adopted by said board for any child who has demonstrated sufficient mental and physical competency for such entrance or placement” (WV ST § 18-8-1a). “A county board may provide for advanced entrance or placement under policies adopted by said board for any child who has demonstrated sufficient mental and physical competency for such entrance or placement” (WV ST § 18-8-1a) “Prior to entrance into the 1st grade. . .each child must have either (1) successfully completed such publicly or privately supported, state-approved kindergarten program or Montessori kindergarten program, or (2) successfully completed an entrance test of basic readiness skills approved by the county in which the school is located: provided, that such test be administered in lieu of kindergarten attendance only under extraordinary circumstances to be determined by the board” (WV ST § 18-8-1a). Mandatory
(WV ST § 18-8-1a)
Wisconsin 6
(WI ST 115.54)
5 on or before September 1
(WI ST 118.14)
Each district must prescribe "procedures, conditions and standards for early admission to kindergarten." The state will not reimburse the district for serving children who have not attained the minimum age required by statute (WI ST 120.12 and 121.004). Each district must prescribe "procedures, conditions and standards for early admission to. . .1st grade" (WI ST 120.12). Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive
Wyoming 7
(WY ST § 21-4-102)
5 on or before September 15
(WY ST § 21-4-302)
Not specified in statute. Not specified in statute. Kindergarten attendance is not mandatory in this state. Permissive

The information in this report was collected as part of ECS’ study, "Full-Day Kindergarten: An Exploratory Study of Finance and Access in the United States," which was funded by a grant from the Foundation for Child Development.


© 2013 by the Education Commission of the States (ECS). All rights reserved. ECS is the only nationwide, nonpartisan interstate compact devoted to education.
To request permission to excerpt part of this publication, either in print or electronically, please fax a request to the attention of the ECS Communications Department, 303.296.8332 or e-mail ecs@ecs.org.
Helping State Leaders Shape Education Policy